The Vicomte de Bragelonne – English and French editions

The Vicomte de Bragelonne

The Vicomte de Bragelonne is the last book of the Musketeer trilogy by Alexandre Dumas and my favorite. The musketeers are old but they are still willing to fight to defend what they believe in. Dumas was praised for how he depicted the rise of Louis XIV as the Sun King.

The Vicomte de Bragelonne was mentioned in my videos: Who was the Man in the Iron Mask? and Who was the real D'Artagnan? The true story.

Both English and French editions are available, as well as kindle and audio books. The English edition comprises of three books due to the size of the original work.

It is May 1660 and the fate of nations is at stake. Mazarin plots, Louis XIV is in love, and Raoul de Bragelonne, son of Athos, is intent on serving France and winning the heart of Louise de la Valliere. D'Artagnan, meanwhile, is perplexed by a mysterious stranger, and soon he learns that his old comrades already have great projects in hand. Athos seeks the restoration of Charles II, while Aramis, with Porthos in tow, has a secret plan involving a masked prisoner and the fortification of the island of Belle-Ile. D'Artagnan finds a thread leading him to the French court, the banks of the Tyne, the beaches of Holland, and the dunes of Brittany.

The Vicomte de Bragelonne opens an epic adventure which continues with Louise de la Valliere and reaches its climax in The Man in the Iron Mask. This new edition is the only one in print and is fully annotated with an introduction that sets Dumas's saga in its historical and cultural context.(storyline from Amazon)

Transparency statement: I have read this novel in French several times and recommend it because I sincerely believe you will enjoy reading it too ^^

Who was the Man in the Iron Mask?

Who was the real D'Artagnan? The true story.


You may also like...